Event Summaries

2013 James H. Korn Award Recipients

DSC_0055The Reinert Center is proud to announce this year’s recipients of the James H. Korn Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award, the Teaching and Learning Team from Interprofessional Education.

Members of the team include:
Irma Ruebling (Director of the IPE Center), Rebecca Banks (Social Work),  Judy Carlson (Nursing),  Ginge Kettenbach (Physical Therapy),  Kathy Kienstra (Radiation Therapy), Mary Kreiger (Library), David Pole (Community & Family Medicine); and Nina Westhus (Nursing).

The research conducted by the Interprofessional Teaching and Learning Team included assessment of student learning outcomes and the assessment of the knowledge, attitudes and skills of students in relation to interprofessional practice. The team also completed a comprehensive plan that included quantitative and qualitative methods to examine the effectiveness of the core curriculum in shaping attitudes, knowledge, and skills for future health care providers as well as longitudinal tracking of students through the educational experience, including the classroom-based, team-based simulation, and clinical components.

The James H. Korn Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award is an annual award established in recognition of Dr. Korn’s many contributions to research on teaching and learning. Professor emeritus in Psychology, Dr. Korn is deeply committed to scholarly teaching; he was also a member of the faculty committee that first established the Reinert Center in 1997.  Faculty from across the university nominate their peers for the award, and a committee of faculty decide the winner each year.

This year’s award-winning team of scholar-teachers was honored at an award ceremony and reception on the evening of Tuesday, November 5, 2013.

A call for nominations for the 2014 award will be circulated in May, 2014.